IUC Statement on George Floyd Death

The Inter-University Council of Ohio Presidents make the following statement regarding the recent violent and brutal death of George Floyd in Minneapolis.

The IUC Presidents were horrified and disgusted by the brutality demonstrated by individuals within the Minneapolis Police Department that resulted in the death of George Floyd.  Our hearts ache for the family of Mr. Floyd.  We recognize the legitimate anger by people of all races, but particularly Black Americans who have experienced systemic hatred, racism, and bigotry for too long.

We pledge to engage our communities in serious action and redouble our efforts to end abuse, discrimination, and racial inequality. 

We support Governor DeWine’s statement that: “We have an obligation to be a positive voice in advancing change for all those who are marginalized.  We have an obligation to create equity in health, education, economic opportunity for all our citizens.” 

As a group of higher education leaders, we value the role of education and dialogue to help create lasting change. We also recognize our important role in educating citizens and future leaders.

We pledge to work with Governor DeWine and leaders of Ohio, and our communities, to take action so that our legacy of bigotry and inequality no longer infect our communities and institutions.


President Gary L. Miller

The University of Akron

President Rodney K. Rogers

Bowling Green State University

President Cynthia Jackson-Hammond

Central State University

President Neville G. Pinto

University of Cincinnati

President Harlan M. Sands

Cleveland State University

President Todd Diacon

Kent State University

President Gregory P. Crawford

Miami University

President John T. Langell

Northeast Ohio Medical University

President Michael V. Drake

The Ohio State University

President M. Duane Nellis

Ohio University

President Jeffrey A. Bauer

Shawnee State University

President Sharon L. Gaber

University of Toledo

President Susan Edwards

Wright State University

President James P. Tressel

Youngstown State University

President Bruce Johnson

Inter-University Council of Ohio